Dunedin voters dump Walls and Guest

Seasoned campaigners Richard Walls and Michael Guest have been dumped from the Dunedin City Council while new mayor Dave Cull's Greater Dunedin team has secured four seats.

The preliminary result shows three new faces: former Otago Health Board chairman Richard Thomson, film-maker and youth worker Jinty MacTavish (both Greater Dunedin) and businessman Lee Vandervis, a former councillor and unsuccessful mayoral candidate.

The rest of the council has a familiar look, with the exception of Messrs Walls and Guest.

Some had expected councillors who had voted for the Forsyth Barr Stadium may be voted out, but that has clearly not happened, with seven of those elected having voted throughout the stadium debate for it to go ahead.  

The new council is:

Central Ward: Richard Thomson (Greater Dunedin), Lee Vandervis, Bill Acklin, Jinty MacTavish (Greater Dunedin), John Bezett, Chris Staynes (Greater Dunedin), Neil Collins, Teresa Stevenson, Fliss Butcher, Paul Hudson, Colin Weatherall.

Mosgiel Taieri Ward: Kate Wilson (Greater Dunedin), Syd Brown.

Waikouaiti Coast-Chalmers Ward: Andrew Noone.

A detailed list of results is available here

For full reaction and analysis buy Monday's print Otago Daily Times.  


Add a Comment