Butterfield new Southern DHB chairman

Joe Butterfield
Joe Butterfield
Former South Canterbury District Health Board chairman Joe Butterfield has been appointed chairman of the Southern District Health Board.

Mr Butterfield, a chartered accountant from Timaru, stood down from the South Canterbury chairmanship at the end of last year after completing the nine consecutive years allowed for such positions.

He replaces Errol Millar who was told earlier this month he would not be reappointed.

Mr Millar, who was appointed by Health Minister Tony Ryall to the chairmanship of the Otago board after the sacking of Richard Thomson as chairman in February last year, was then given the task of chairing the super Southern board when it came into being in May.

He was keen to serve another term, but was advised by Mr Ryall that he was no longer required for the chairman's role on the new board.

Mr Butterfield was among ten new chairs appointed to DHBs today.

Mr Ryall said vacancies came up because of statutory term limits, retirements and bereavement and he was using the opportunity to "refresh the leadership and skill mix" on the boards.

In Auckland, Lester Levy would continue as chairman of Waitemata DHB but would also chair the Auckland DHB. In Wellington, public health physician Virginia Hope would chair the Capital and Coast and the Hutt Valley DHBs.

"These cross-appointments signal a push for greater regional collaboration in the planning and delivery of health services," Mr Ryall said.

"The overlaps between each of these Auckland and Wellington region DHBs are clear."

A number of DHBs have members on more than one board.

"Both the MidCentral chairman Phil Sunderland and the Whanganui chairwoman Kate Joblin have been reappointed and will deputise for each other. Existing Canterbury member Peter Ballantyne will become deputy chairman of both Canterbury and West Coast."

Five boards would be chaired by elected members -- Whanganui, Hawke's Bay, Capital Coast, Nelson and South Canterbury -- who were re-elected to their boards at the October elections. Half the boards have deputy chairs who were also elected in October.

New chairs were Dr Levy, Deryck Shaw at Lakes DHB, Sally Webb at Bay of Plenty, David Scott at Tairawhiti, Mary Bourke at Taranaki, Kevin Atkinson at Hawke's Bay, Dr Hope at Hutt and Capital and Coast, Jenny Black at Nelson-Marlborough, Paul McCormack at West Coast, and Bruce Matheson at Canterbury.



Add a Comment



Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter