Ellison appointed to new Arts Council Creative NZ

Karitane woman Suzanne Ellison has been appointed to the new Arts Council of Creative New Zealand.

In addition to being an iwi manager of Kati Huirapa Runaka ki Puketeraki, she is a researcher for arts and cultural heritage projects. Ms Ellison also chairs the Ngai Tahu Fund, and was a senior manager with the Ngai Tahu Development Corp for more than a decade. In 2008, she completed two terms as a board member of Te Waka Toi, the Maori Arts Board of Creative New Zealand.

Under the Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa Act 2014, the single Arts Council would be responsible for policy, strategy and funding allocation, ending the previous division of responsibilities between the Arts Council, the Arts Board, Te Waka Toi and the Pacific Arts Committee.

The 13-member Arts Council is: Dr Richard Grant (chairman), Suzanne Ellison, Rose Evans, Karyn Fenton-Ellis, Darrin Haimona, Peter-Lucas Kaaka Jones, Grant Kerr, Luamanuvao Winnie Laban, Wayne Marriott, Michael Prentice, Felicity Price, Caren Rangi and James Wallace.

''The new Arts Council is a strong blend of expertise from the current council and funding bodies and new members. They bring a wide geographical spread and a range of arts knowledge and skills,'' Dr Grant, of Havelock North, said.

Add a Comment