Southern mayors unopposed

Bryan Cadogan. Photo: ODT files
Bryan Cadogan. Photo: ODT files

Tracy Hicks. Photo: ODT files
Tracy Hicks. Photo: ODT files
Six mayoral candidates throughout the country have been elected unopposed, including Gore District mayor Tracy Hicks and Clutha District mayor Bryan Cadogan.

Andy Watson for the Rangitikei District, Jenny Shattock for the South Waikato District, Jim Mylchreest for the Waipa District, and Hamish McDouall for the Whanganui district also remain as mayors.

However, Campbell Barry has taken the top job from incumbent Ray Wallace in Hutt City, while Horowhenua District Council also has a new mayor - Bernie Wanden has rolled Michael Feyen.

Voting for Local Body Elections closed at noon on Saturday. 



Add a Comment

Local journalism matters - now more than ever

As the Covid-19 pandemic brings the world into uncharted waters, Otago Daily Times reporters and photographers continue to bring you the stories that matter. For more than 158 years our journalists have provided readers with local news you can trust. This is more important now than ever.

As advertising drops off during the pandemic, support from our readers is crucial. You can help us continue to bring you news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter