New faces for ECan

Phil Clearwater has moved from the city council to ECan.
Phil Clearwater has moved from the city council to ECan.
Environment Canterbury has nine new regional councillors with three returning for a second term. 

It is the first fully elected regional council since the Government controversially sacked the standing council in 2010. Commissioners were at the helm until 2016, when partial democracy was returned.

Former city councillor Phil Clearwater has successful been voted onto the regional council, while Lan Pham, Claire McKay and John Sunckell return for their second term.

Regional councillors: Ian Mackenzie, John Sunckell, Elizabeth McKenzie, Peter Scott, Vicky Southworth, Phil Clearwater, Claire McKay, Edie Grant, Megan Hands, Craig Pauling, Jenny Hughey, Tane Apanui, Lan Pham and Nicole Marshall.

Local journalism matters - now more than ever

As the Covid-19 pandemic brings the world into uncharted waters, Otago Daily Times reporters and photographers continue to bring you the stories that matter. For more than 158 years our journalists have provided readers with local news you can trust. This is more important now than ever.

As advertising drops off during the pandemic, support from our readers is crucial. You can help us continue to bring you news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter