Smith returns in Cabinet reshuffle

Nick Smith
Nick Smith
Auckland Central MP Nikki Kaye has been elevated straight into Cabinet and Nick Smith also returns in Prime Minister John Key's reshuffle - but their promotions come at a cost to Phil Heatley and Kate Wilkinson, who have both been dumped.

As expected Mr Key has appointed David Carter as the new Speaker to take over from Lockwood Smith when he resigns later this month to become the High Commissioner in London.

Mr Key also opened up two other places at the Cabinet table, by demoting Phil Heatley, currently Housing Minister, and Conservation Minister Kate Wilkinson from Cabinet, saying they had made a contribution but "I have made the judgement that it is time for fresh energy and ideas and for other members of our talented 59-strong caucus to be given an opportunity".

Simon Bridges, currently a Minister outside Cabinet, has been promoted to Cabinet in the third open slot - taking on the Labour and Energy and Resources portfolios.

Dr Smith will take over the Housing and Conservation portfolios and Ms Kaye will be Minister for Food Safety, Civil Defence and Youth Affairs.

Senior Whip Michael Woodhouse has also been made a minister outside Cabinet and will be Immigration and Veterans' Affairs minister.

The changes will take effect from January 31.

Ms Wilkinson resigned from her Labour portfolio in the wake of inquiries into the Pike River mine explosion.

As Mr Key earlier indicated, Hekia Parata has kept her job as Education Minister - but Mr Key has moved responsibility for the teachers' payroll Novopay system from associate education minister Craig Foss to his troubleshooter, Steven Joyce.


John Key: Prime Minister, Minister of Tourism, Minister Responsible for Ministerial Services, Minister in Charge of the NZ Security, Intelligence Service
Minister Responsible for the GCSB.

Bill English: Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Finance.

Gerry Brownlee: Minister for Canterbury Earthquake Recovery, Minister of Transport, Leader of the House, Minister Responsible for the Earthquake, Commission.

Steven Joyce: Minister for Economic Development, Minister of Science and Innovation, Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment, Associate Minister of Finance.

Judith Collins: Minister of Justice, Minister for ACC, Minister for Ethnic Affairs.

Tony Ryall: Minister of Health, Minister for State Owned Enterprises.

Hekia Parata: Minister of Education, Minister of Pacific Island Affairs.

Christopher Finlayson: Attorney-General, Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations, Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage, Associate Minister of Maori Affairs.

Paula Bennett: Minister for Social Development Associate Minister of Housing.

Dr Jonathan Coleman: Minister of Defence, Minister of State Services, Associate Minister of Finance.

Murray McCully: Minister of Foreign Affairs, Minister for Sport and Recreation.

Anne Tolley: Minister of Police, Minister of Corrections, Deputy Leader of the House.

Dr Nick Smith: Minister of Conservation, Minister of Housing.

Tim Groser: Minister of Trade, Minister for Climate Change Issues, Associate Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Amy Adams: Minister for the Environment, Minister for Communications and Information Technology, Associate Minister for Canterbury, Earthquake Recovery.

Nathan Guy: Minister for Primary Industries, Minister for Racing.

Craig Foss: Minister of Commerce, Minister of Consumer Affairs, Minister of Broadcasting, Associate Minister for ACC.

Chris Tremain: Minister of Internal Affairs, Minister of Local Government, Associate Minister of Tourism.

Simon Bridges: Minister of Energy and Resources, Minister of Labour, Associate Minister for Climate Change Issues.

Nikki Kaye: Minister for Food Safety, Minister of Civil Defence, Minister of Youth Affairs, Associate Minister of Education, Associate Minister of Immigration.

Ministers outside of Cabinet

Maurice Williamson: Minister for Building and Construction, Minister of Customs, Minister for Land Information, Minister of Statistics.

Jo Goodhew: Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector, Minister for Senior Citizens, Minister of Women's Affairs, Associate Minister of Health, Associate Minister for Primary Industries.

Chester Borrows: Minister for Courts, Associate Minister of Justice, Associate Minister for Social Development.

Michael Woodhouse: Minister of Immigration, Minister of Veterans' Affairs, Associate Minister of Transport.

Support party ministers

Peter Dunne: Minister of Revenue, Associate Minister of Conservation, Associate Minister of Health.

John Banks: Minister for Regulatory Reform, Minister for Small Business, Associate Minister of Commerce, Associate Minister of Education

Dr Pita Sharples: Minister of Maori Affairs, Associate Minister of Corrections, Associate Minister of Education.

Tariana Turia: Minister for Whanau Ora, Minister for Disability Issues, Associate Minister of Health, Associate Minister of Housing, Associate Minister for Social Development, Associate Minister for Tertiary, Education, Skills and Employment.

- Claire Trevett


Add a Comment