Waitaki Boys' tops awards

Photo: Brad Reeve
Photo: Brad Reeve
On Friday night in Timaru the Aoraki Secondary School Sports Awards were held. \

It was an awesome night for Waitaki Boys' with 35 students making the finals (which means they were in the top three within their sport for the entire Aoraki region). 

The Aoraki region includes Mt Hutt, Ashburton, Timaru, Temuka, Oamaru, Geraldine, Twizel and Waimate, so to be named as a finalist is a huge achievement in itself.

Waitaki Boys' boasted the largest number of finalists at the awards and were incredibly proud to take home 15 of the top awards.

Our Aoraki Secondary School Sports Award winners for 2019 are: Ben Paton - Rugby, Mason James - Cricket, Shan Barcelona - Badminton, Harry Wilson - Croquet, 
Kaleb Hayes - Multisport, Jakob Cunningham - Touch Rugby, Stanley Kalepo - Volleyball, Cody Mackenzie - Equestrian, Samuel Petrie - Kayaking, Will Plunket - Sailing, Benjamin Brosnan - Smallbore Rifle Shooting, Jakob Cunningham - Waterskiing, Stuart Beattie - Western Horse Riding, Blake Martin - Contribution to Sport, Mr Ian Cathcart - Staff Contribution to Sport.

 - Paula Symes

Add a Comment

Local journalism matters - now more than ever

As the Covid-19 pandemic brings the world into uncharted waters, Otago Daily Times reporters and photographers continue to bring you the stories that matter - yours. For more than 150 years our journalists have provided readers with local news you can trust. This is now more important than ever.

As advertising drops off during the pandemic, support from our readers is crucial. You can help us continue to bring you news you can trust by subscribing to our print or digital editions, or by making a donation.

Become a Supporter