Chair's pay 'an insult'

Cliff Parker
Cliff Parker
Stephen Jeffery's salary for chairing the Roxburgh Community Board is an insult, one of his fellow board members says.

Cliff Parker said it was "not on" that Mr Jeffery was not only paid less than the people who chaired the Vincent and Cromwell boards, he was paid less than elected members of the Vincent and Cromwell boards.

Figures presented to the Roxburgh Community Board meeting show the people who chair the Vincent and Cromwell boards are paid $7655 a year, as well as Central Otago district councillor fees, while those who chair the Maniototo and Roxburgh Community Boards are paid $3827, although as a councillor the Maniototo chairman, Barry Becker, received councillor fees of another $6124.

Stephen Jeffery
Stephen Jeffery
If Clair Higginson is re-elected Vincent board chairwoman today, Mr Jeffery will be the only board chairman who is not a councillor.

Elected Vincent and Cromwell Community Board members are paid $6689.

Although he was not in the job for the money, Mr Jeffery said he felt he did as much work as other chairmen.

He was also concerned the level of remuneration deterred others from standing for the board.

"It won't encourage new people to come forward.

"I'm lucky enough that I'm self-employed. That is all we will attract the way things are structured at the moment."

John Lane, who sits on the Roxburgh Community Board and the Central Otago District Council, said the council needed to have another look at what people who chaired boards were paid.

"It should be no less than what members of other community boards are paid."

The board recommended the relative workload attributed to community boards be reassessed by council.

Mr Jeffery was re-elected chairman of the board at last week's Roxburgh board meeting.

He is serving his fifth term as a board member, the second as chairman.

Helen Pinder was re-elected deputy chairwoman. Mrs Pinder is serving her third term on the board, the second as deputy chairwoman.


Annual pay
CODC elected members' annual remuneration
Community board chairmen

Vincent (if chaired by councillor) $7655
Cromwell (councillor chairman) $7655
Maniototo $3827
Roxburgh $3827

Community board members appointed
Vincent (3) $6698
Cromwell (3) $6698
Maniototo (1) $3349
Roxburgh (1) $3349

Community board members elected
Vincent (5) $6698
Cromwell (4) $6698
Maniototo (4) $3349
Roxburgh (4) $3349
Councillors (10) $6124

Meeting allowance, per half day, councillors only $128


Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter