Firefighters honoured

Twelve honours recipients were recognised for their services at an investiture ceremony at Government House in Wellington yesterday, including two Central Otago firefighters.

Appearing with Governor-General Dame Patsy Reddy at the ceremony are Des Minehan (left), of Cromwell, who was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to Fire and Emergency New Zealand, and Ewan Mason, of Ranfurly, who received a Queen’s Service Medal for services to Fire and Emergency New Zealand and the community.

Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter