Lepper wins Central Otago mayoralty

Tony Lepper
Tony Lepper
Central Otago mayor Tony Lepper has been re-elected.

It was a two-horse race for Central Otago's mayoralty, and preliminary results show Mr Lepper garnered 4416 votes, while Lynley Claridge drew 2521.

The results show Neil Gillespie (1511 votes), Nigel McKinlay (1205) and Shirley Calvert (1131) will be elected in the Cromwell ward, while Clair Higginson (860) and Malcolm Topliss (677) will be elected for the Earnsleugh-Manuherikia ward.

Martin McPherson (1673), Barrie Wills (1358) and Stephen Battrick (1152) are to be elected for the Alexandra ward, and Stuart Duncan (448) will represent the Maniototo ward on council.

Stephen Jeffery was elected unopposed for the Teviot Valley ward.

The final voting return for the district was 51.3%.

The final result is expected to be declared on Wednesday.

Add a Comment