Street name changes approved, except for two

A proposal to rename Thompson St in Alexandra, named after a former mayor of the town, was rejected by the Central Otago District Council at a meeting in Alexandra yesterday.

It had been proposed Thompson St be renamed Thomson St, in recognition of the Thomson family, which had a long association with Alexandra.

The council received five public submissions supporting the name change but 17 opposing it.

Margaret Bruss (nee Thompson) told the council the street was named after her great-grandfather, Joseph Edward Thompson, who was mayor of Alexandra from 1884-1886.

Former councils of the Alexandra Borough have established policies in street-naming, Mrs Bruss said.

"One of those policies is to name a street after each mayor. There are already 22 streets named after the 22 mayors who have held office since the establishment of the town in 1867, until 1980."

In keeping with that tradition, at yesterday's meeting the council agreed to rename the northern end of Brandon St "Close Place", after Ross Close, who was mayor from 1980 to 1986.

The council also voted to rename Munroes Lane, in Cromwell "Munro Lane", Charlemont St West, in Ranfurly "Mitchell St", and Charlemont St East, in Ranfurly "Charlemont St".

But it turned down a proposal to rename Poolburn Moa Creek Rd "Poolburn Rd".



Add a Comment



Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter