Community groups to go in search of national title

Southern  groups will go head-to-head in Tauranga later this month, vying to be named the national Supreme Winner at the annual Trustpower National Community Awards.

Queenstown's Wakatipu Wildlife Trust, the St John Central Otago Health Shuttle, Waitaki's Whalan Lodge Trust, Dunedin's Wildlife Hospital, the Owaka Cavalcade Host Town Committee and the South Catlins Charitable Trust are all finalists in the national awards, having won their respective regional titles last year.

All 25 finalists from across New Zealand will give an eight-minute presentation to the judges, who include Rhodes Scholar Johann Go, Good Neighbour co-founder Cam Hill; Tauranga Women's Refuge general manager Hazel Hape, and Edgecumbe Volunteer Fire Brigade's Bruce Knight.

The winner will be announced on March 30.


Add a Comment