Two mayors returned with comfortable majorities

Graham Smith.
Graham Smith.
Waimate and MacKenzie district mayoral races were both landslide victories for the incumbents.

In Waimate, Craig Rowley took 2179 votes to his opponent Murray Ludemann's 420.

In MacKenzie, Graham Smith received 1418 votes to his challenger Julian Lee's 208.

Mr Rowley said he was "very pleased" with the support he received from Waimate residents and the confidence they had in him to carry on "with the work we've been doing" for a third term.

Important 3 Waters projects and continuing to implement the district's economic development plan would remain top priorities.

Sharyn Cain (1059 votes) came out on top in a much tighter race for the four Waimate ward council seats.

Fabia Fox (878) will join incumbents Miriam Morton (732) and David Owen (723). Elected unopposed to the Waimate District Council were Sheila Paul (Lower Waihao ward), Colin Pankhurst (Hakataramea) and Tom O'Connor and Sandy McAlwee (Pareora-Otaio-Makikihi).

The voter return was 50.19% - or 2742 votes - for the district.

Craig Rowley
Craig Rowley
MacKenzie district voters cast 1797 votes to reach a 57.69% return.

In the Opuha ward, incumbents Stuart Barwood (771) and Anne Munro (683) will be joined by Murray Cox (466).

And in the Pukaki ward, newcomer Emily Bradbury (595), incumbent James Leslie (539) and newcomer Matt Murphy (515) will round out the council.

After former Timaru mayor Damon Odey opted not to seek re-election, Nigel Bowen (8322) easily beat Gordon Handy (4771), and Janie Annear (3887), Shane Wilson (310) and Kari Mohoao (173) in the mayoral race.

The voter return was 52.92%, or 17,729 votes.

Environment Canterbury's two South Canterbury-Otuhituhi vacancies were picked up by Elizabeth McKenzie (8475) and incumbent Peter Scott (6649).

The voter return was 52.64%, or 22,677 votes.

Add a Comment