Van Uden returned as Queenstown mayor

Vanessa van Uden.
Vanessa van Uden.
Queenstown Lakes District incumbent Vanessa van Uden has been re-elected as mayor, beating hopeful Al Angus, of Glenorchy, by more than 4500 votes.

The preliminary election results released this afternoon showed Ms van Uden (46) won by a landslide, with 6056 of the votes, compared to Mr Angus' 1509.

Mr Angus was also unsuccessful in his bid to be elected on to the council, receiving the least amount of votes of all 14 candidates standing for the Queenstown/Wakatipu ward with just 613 votes.

Crs Cath Gilmour (2966 votes), Mel Gazzard (1686) and Simon Stamers-Smith (1578) were re-elected to the council and will be joined by new councillors Craig Ferguson (55), who received 2530 votes, Alexa Forbes (53) who received 2199 votes and Merv Aoake (56), who received 1623 votes.

Trevor Tattersfield (72) unsuccessfully sought re-election, receiving 1307 votes.

In the Wanaka ward, Lyal Cocks was the only councillor re-elected with 1797 votes.

New councillor Calum McLeod was elected with 2398 votes along with Ella Lawton (1544).

Leigh Overton and Jude Battson were unsuccessful in their re-election bids, receiving 893 and 1367 votes respectively.

A last minute rush in voting saw the district climb to 44.9% by noon today - lowest voter turn out since 2007 (49%), with 50% of voting papers returned in 2010.

Gerrard Eckhoff, Graeme Robert Bell and Gary Kelliher were elected to the Otago Regional Council, with 2820, 2678 and 2312 votes respectively.

Blank voter returns for the ORC accounted for 2220 of the papers returned.

Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter