Two new councillors and one back after nine years

Nobby Clark
Nobby Clark
While the majority of Invercargill city councillors are to return, three fresh faces may inspire fresh debate.

One of the council's main critics, Nobby Clark of the Invercargill Ratepayers Advocacy Group, was the highest-polling councillor, with 9987 votes.

He said his election shows that people were not happy with the council - "I'm going to be a spokesperson for the ratepayers, not only for the council."

Mr Clark said he had a dozen things he wanted to achieve in his first year, including sorting the WasteNet contract and "the lack of financial management".

The other new councillor is ILT Stadium Southland general manager Nigel Skelt, receiving 7534 votes.

Peter Kett is also likely to return to the council table, after missing out last term. He received 6191 votes, fewer than 200 votes ahead of Wayne Harpur and Lindsay Thomas, with 6047 and 6043 respectively.

Mr Kett said he had just had a cup of tea and had begun vacuuming when he got the call.

Nigel Skelt
Nigel Skelt
He was first elected in 1998 but missed out on two elections - "I served right through until 2010 ... this will be the start of the sixth term."

"There is a lot of work to be done but I hope this council works together."

Mr Skelt, who was in Kuala Lumpur when he got the news, was surprised but very pleased with the outcome and agreed with Mr Kett that council co-operation was required.

"I hope we can work as a team, making sure we make good decisions and serving the community well."

Former councillors back at the table include Darren Ludlow (9106 votes), Toni Biddle (8981 votes), Ian Pottinger (8895 votes), Graham Lewis (7906 votes), Allan Arnold (7768 votes), Lindsay Abbott (7416 votes), Becs Amundsen (7387 votes), Alex Crackett (7216 votes) and Lesley Soper (6762 votes).

Bluff Community Board candidates Ray Fife, Gloria Henderson​, Graham Laidlaw, Noel Peterson and Tammi Topi were all elected unopposed.

There will be no change at the Invercargill Licensing Trust, where incumbents Paddy O'Brien, Suzanne Prentice, Mike Mika, Angela Newell, Alan Dennis and Sean Bellew were returned.


Add a Comment

Local journalism matters - now more than ever

As the Covid-19 pandemic brings the world into uncharted waters, Otago Daily Times reporters and photographers continue to bring you the stories that matter. For more than 158 years our journalists have provided readers with local news you can trust. This is more important now than ever.

As advertising drops off during the pandemic, support from our readers is crucial. You can help us continue to bring you news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter