16 sports represented over 'special period'

Magic goal keep Kelly Jury (left) and goal shoot Lenize Potgieter of the Southern Steel tussle...
Lenize Potgieter (right) of the Southern Steel tussles for the ball during an ANZ Premiership netball match. The Steel are finalists for team of the year. PHOTO: DIANNE MANSON/MICHAEL BRADLEY PHOTOGRAPHY
Finalists from across a wide range of sporting codes have been recognised for the 2018-19 Southland Sports Awards next month.

Athletes and officials from 16 sports have been confirmed as finalists across seven categories.

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner at the Ascot Park Hotel on July 12.

Sport Southland chief executive Brendon McDermott said the regional sports trust was honoured to again be hosting the awards on behalf of the Southland Amateur Sports Trust.

"It's been a very special period of sporting success over the judging period, including successful Commonwealth Games campaigns and national titles by the Southland Sharks and Southern Steel," McDermott said.

Six finalists have been named in the sportsperson of the year category: New Zealand indoor bowls representative Gary Low, rising motorsport star Jordan Michels, Commonwealth Games medalists Natasha Hansen, Eddie Dawkins and Kirstie James, and road cyclist Tom Scully, the first Southlander to ride in the Tour de France.

Nominess in the team of the year category are the champion Sharks and Steel teams, along with the New Zealand women's cycling team sprint duo of Hansen and Emma Cumming, silver medallists at last year's Commonwealth Games.

Sharks coach Judd Flavell and Steel coach Reinga Bloxham have been named in the coach of the year category, in an impressive field which also includes cycling's Sid Cumming, athletics' Chris Knight and rowing's Jack Allan.

Nominees for official of the year are international cycling commissaire Erin Criglington and Commonwealth Games netball umpire Kristie Simpson.

The masters achievement category will be hard to split, with cyclists Neil Familton and James Jubb, golfer Robyn Boniface and runner Debbie Telfer all in the mix.

Significant contributions and impact on Southland sport will also be recognised with Sport Southland services to sport awards presented on the awards night.

Southland Sports Awards


Sportsperson of the year: Eddie Dawkins (track cycling), Natasha Hansen (track cycling), Kirstie James (track cycling), Gary Low (indoor bowls), Jordan Michels (motorsport), Tom Scully (road cycling).

Junior sportsperson of the year: Josh Burnett (mountainbiking), Aliyah Dunn (netball), Sam Hodges (volleyball), Jay Renton (rugby), Alena Saili (rugby and sevens), Tom Sexton (track cycling), Corbin Strong (track cycling), Ella Smith (badminton), Jaxon Taylor (triathlon), Flynn Thomas (rugby).

Team of the year: Natasha Hansen and Emma Cumming (track cycling), Southern Steel (netball), Southland Sharks (basketball) 

Coach of the  year: Jack Allan (rowing), Reinga Bloxham (netball), Sid Cumming (cycling), Judd Flavell (basketball), Chris Knight (athletics).

Official of the year: Erin Criglington (cycling), Kristie Simpson (netball). 

Masters Achievement: Robyn Boniface (golf), Neil Familton (track cycling), James Jubb (track cycling), Debbie Telfer (athletics).

Add a Comment






Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter