11 from Otago in NZ team

Oli Chignell
Oli Chignell
Many of Otago's top athletes will test themselves against Oceania's best in June.

Eleven athletes from the province were selected in the 113-strong New Zealand team for the Oceania area and combined events championships in Townsville.

Oli Chignell gets rewarded for a dominant 18 months and will contest the open men's 5000m.

He is joined in the open grades by Rebekah Greene, who will race in the women's 1500m after winning bronze in the event at the national championships. She was also selected in the 800m and 5000m.

Tori Peeters rounds out the open-grade selections in the women's javelin.

Meanwhile, the region's three Paralympians will all compete: Anna Grimaldi in the F47 long jump and T47 100m, Holly Robinson in the F46 javelin and Jess Hamill in the F34 shot put.

In the under-18 grade, Zharna Beattie was picked for the discus and shot put after an impressive summer.

Emma McKay will compete in both the long and triple jump after a similarly strong season.

Ethan Walker will throw in the javelin, while Cameron Moffitt will contest the decathlon and 4x100m relay.

Dyani Shepherd-Oates will compete in the U20 hammer, discus and shot put.

Add a Comment