Five from Otago in NZ team

Holly Robinson
Holly Robinson
Five Otago athletes have been selected in the New Zealand team for theWorld Para Athletics Championships in Dubai on November 7-15.

The team of 18 includes 2016 Rio Paralympic medallists Holly Robinson, William Stedman and Anna Grimaldi.

It will be Robinson's fifth World Para Athletics Championships after competing in the F46 javelin at every event since 2011.

Robinson claimed bronze at the Doha championships in 2015 and silver in London in 2017.

In April at the Australian championships, she threw 45.73m, more than a metre further than the world record in the women's F46 javelin.

Grimaldi returns to the world championships for the third time after competing in 2015 and 2017.

She is looking to return to the international stage in good form after suffering from recurring injuries over the past two years.

Jessica Gillan (nee Hamill) returns for her fifth championship since 2008. Gillan has gained a bronze and two silver medals in the F34 shot put from the four championships in which she has competed.

Otago thrower Caitlin Dore will be lining up in the F37 shot put and the F37-38 discus throw.

Sprinter Jacob Phillips will have a start in the T35 100m and the T35 200m.

Stedman, of Canterbury, will compete in the T36 400m, T36 long jump and the T36 100m.

Also featuring in the women's shot put are Lisa Adams (F37 shot put) and Tayla Clement (F44 shot put), who are both ranked No1 one in their classification.

Dunedin's Raylene Bates has been named as one of the coaches.

There will be a further selection announcement on July 4.

Athletics NZ expects the Dubai team to be the largest to represent New Zealand at a World Para Athletics Championships event.

Add a Comment