Bowls: Johns enjoys popular victory on home green

Heather Johns' Paritutu women's bowls fours defeated the highly favoured Sandra Keith team from Dunsandel to claim the title in the Hyundai National Open Championships.

"We're very proud of our club and really proud to have won this at home," skip Heather Johns said after the 18-7 victory.

The first four ends went to Keith, playing with Serena Matthews, Pam Clarke and Karolyn Boon, and looked to be a fulfillment of expectations as the Dunsandel side led 6-0. But in the fifth end the scoring began for Johns, Val Keightly, Debbie Smith and Caroline Harris - much to the delight of the Taranaki crowd.

Winning every other end of the 17 played except one, the Johns quartet let little slip.

The Dunsandel team didn't leave empty-handed - Matthews won the trophy for most consistent woman player at the tournament.


Add a Comment