Lyn Rance, Keanu Derby named Otago Bowlers of the Year

Keanu Darby
Keanu Darby
Lyn Rance and Keanu Darby have been named Otago Bowlers of the Year.

At an awards presentation last night, Rance picked up the female bowler of the year award for the third time, while it was the first win for Darby.

He was awarded the Stan Seear Trophy for best male bowler of the year.

It was a close-run thing for Darby, of the North East Valley club, who finished on the same number of points as Oliver Mason and Nigel Thompson, who both play for Forbury Park.

Darby was the winner of the open men’s singles and pairs.

Lyn Rance
Lyn Rance

The title was decided by Darby’s achievement of making the final eight in three ranked tournaments, which was a better result than that of Mason or Thompson.

Rance, of the Green Island club, won the Millie Khan Memorial Trophy for best female bowler.

She won just ahead of Beth Brown, of Taieri.

Anne Craik was named as the coach of the year.

The development player of the year was Shannon Eathorne, of Andersons Bay.

Fred Smith, of the Leith club, was named club person of the year.

Add a Comment





Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter