Australia to launch T20 defence against NZ

NZ skipper Kane Williamson in action against Australia in last year's T20 final. Photo: Getty...
NZ skipper Kane Williamson in action against Australia in last year's T20 final. Photo: Getty Images

Australia will begin the defence of their Twenty20 World Cup title against New Zealand in Sydney on October 22 in a re-run of last year's final.

The Australians will be hosting the tournament, which begins on October 16 and runs until November 13, for the first time.

The hosts have been drawn in Group 1 of the Super 12 phase of the competition alongside New Zealand, who they defeated in Dubai in November last year, as well as England, Afghanistan, the winners of Group A and runners up in Group B from the first round.

Group 2 will feature India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh plus the Group B winners and Group A runners-up.

Sixteen nations will compete in the tournament, which will be played in Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney.

Sri Lanka and Namibia will face off in the first round tournament opener in Geelong on October 16 in Group A, where they will be joined by two qualifiers.

Group B will feature the West Indies, Scotland and a further two qualifiers.

The final will be played under lights at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on November 13

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter