Cricket: Black Caps batting after winning the toss

New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat in the second cricket test against Sri Lanka in Colombo.

The Black Caps batting lineup will need to orchestrate a turnaround in fortunes of significant proportions after their ugly collapse in the first test in Galle.

James Franklin has been dropped for his lean run, with leg spinner Todd Astle brought in to make his test debut. It means wicketkeeper Kruger van Wyk is likely to bat at No 6, with Doug Bracewell at seven and Astle, who was formerly an opening batsman before converting himself into a leg spinner, at No 8.

Tillakaratne Dilshan comes back into Sri Lanka's side after missing the last match due to a back injury meaning Dimuth Karunaratne, who scored a half-century in the second innings in Galle, has been left out.

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum, Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor (c), Daniel Flynn, Kruger van Wyk, Doug Bracewell, Todd Astle, Tim Southee, Jeetan Patel, Trent Boult.

Sri Lanka: Paranavitana, Dilshan, Sangakkara, Jayawardene (c), Samaraweera, Mathews, Jayawardene, Kulasekara, Herath, Randiv, Eranga.


Add a Comment