Cricket: Volts quartet in NZ T/20 squad

Jimmy Neesham
Jimmy Neesham
Young Otago all-rounder Jimmy Neesham is one of the surprise inclusions in the Black Caps' Twenty/20 squad named today for the upcoming tour of South Africa.

The team naming has been overshadowed by the captaincy drama, and the appointment today of Brendon McCullum as skipper in all three formats of the game.

Neesham (22) is one of four Otago players in the T/20 squad, the others being both McCullum brothers, Brendon and Nathan, and Volts captain Derek de Boorder.

Only two Volts players have made the test squad - Brendon McCullum and seam bowler Neil Wagner.

Speaking of the T/20 selections, National Selection Manager Kim Littlejohn said he believed the squad ''had a good blend of experience and young talented players who we are sure are ready for the challenges ahead''.

"Corey Anderson, Jimmy Neesham, Colin Munro, Derek de Boorder and Mitchell McClenaghan are in good form and have shown considerable promise. They deserve their chance to impress at a higher level.''

The test squad features the return of BJ Watling to the wicketkeeper role, and a call-up for Auckland spinner Bruce Martin.

NZ squads to tour South Africa

T/20: Brendon McCullum (c, Otago Volts), Corey Anderson (Northern Knights), Trent Boult (Northern Knights), Doug Bracewell (Central Stags), Derek de Boorder (Otago Volts), James Franklin (Wellington Firebirds), Peter Fulton (Canterbury Wizards), Martin Guptill (Auckland Aces), Ronnie Hira (Canterbury Wizards), Nathan McCullum (Otago Volts), Mitchell McClenaghan (Auckland Aces), Adam Milne (Central Stags), Colin Munro (Auckland Aces), Jimmy Neesham (Otago Volts), Rob Nicol (Canterbury Wizards).

Test: Brendon McCullum (c), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie (Canterbury Wizards), Daniel Flynn (Northern Knights), James Franklin, Peter Fulton, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin (Auckland Aces), Bruce Martin (Auckland Aces), Jeetan Patel (Wellington Firebirds), Kane Williamson (Northern Knights), Tim Southee (Northern Knights), Neil Wagner, (Otago Volts), BJ Watling (Northern Knights).



Add a Comment