Cricket World Cup: Quarter-final spots confirmed

After an enthralling period of pool play, the Cricket World Cup heads into the knock-out phases this week.

The quarter-finalists were finally determined yesterday after the West Indies beat the UAE and Pakistan ended Ireland's hopes.

The eight teams to make it through are New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, India, Bangladesh, Pakistan and the West Indies.

South Africa take on Sri Lanka in the first match in Sydney on Wednesday, while New Zealand will play the last of the quarter-final games against the West Indies in Wellington on Saturday.

Here are the match-ups to look forward to in the coming days:

Wednesday, 18 March:
South Africa vs Sri Lanka, SCG, 4.30pm

Thursday, 19 March:
India vs Bangladesh, MCG, 4.30pm

Friday, 20 March:
Australia vs Pakistan, Adelaide Oval, 4.30pm

Saturday, 21 March:
New Zealand vs West Indies, Westpac Stadium, 2.00pm

The Black Caps' form suggests they'll be too strong for the West Indies, although stranger things have happened.

If they do win that game, however, Brendon McCullum's men will face the winner of the South Africa v Sri Lanka match at Eden Park on Tuesday, March 24.

The winners of the other two games will face each other on Thursday, March 26 at the SCG.

The final will be played at the MCG on Sunday, March 29.

Add a Comment






Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter