Mid Canty has all to play for

A first-innings win by Mid Canterbury over North Otago in the final series of two-day Hawke Cup elimination games would give the Mid Cantabrians the zone’s right to challenge holder Southland later in the season.

Otago Country is the frontrunner to challenge, having 29 points to Mid Canterbury’s 22 points, but a first-innings victory by Mid Canterbury would take it  a point ahead of Otago Country and give it the right to a  Hawke Cup challenge.

North Otago tails the field on only five points but it has a final chance to put some gloss on what has been a disappointing season.

There are several changes in the North Otago XI.

Captain Jeremiah  Shields will open the batting with Lachie Kingan while wicketkeeper Cormac Hassett, Llew Johnson, Francois Mostert and Brady Kingan bolster the upper order.

Further down, Nick Johnston, Cameron Grubb, the James brothers, Mason and Blake, and Scott Kitto have the task of controlling the Mid Canterbury batting line-up.Mid Canterbury will come into the game with confidence after beating Otago Country outright in Ashburton last weekend although batting from both sides was below par. Mid Canterbury made 64 and 143, while Otago Country produced innings of 83 and 36. In all, Mid Canterbury faced 83.4 overs to Otago Country’s 58 overs for the match.


Nth Otago v Mid Canty
Oamaru, today

North Otago: Jeremiah Shields (captain), Lachlan Kingan, Cormac Hassett, Llew Johnson, Francois Mostert, Brady Kingan, Nick Johnston, Cameron Grubb, Mason James, Blake James, Scott Kitto, Robbie Breen (12th man).

Mid Canterbury: Matt Winter (captain), Deon Biggs, Jay Houston, Cam Jopson, Des Kruger, Tom Ravenscroft, James Southby, Will Southby, Shaun Stagg, Matt Tait, Richard Turpie

Add a Comment