Transtasman honours even on first morning

The honours were shared on the opening morning of the Oceania Track Cycling Championships at the SIT Zero Fees Velodrome at Invercargill.

New Zealand and Australia enjoyed one title each in the junior sprint finals, with 180 riders from Australia and New Zealand competing in the four-day championship, which not only decides Oceania titles but also offers all-important qualifying spots for February's UCI World Championships.

The Australian 1 combination of Alessia McCaig and Kalinda Robinson won the junior female team sprint final in 35.249s for the 500m, after topping the qualifying earlier in the morning.

Their time established a provisional new championship record.

They fought off a strong challenge from the New Zealand pair of Tyla Green and Jenna Borthwick, who clocked 36.264 in the final.

Australia 3 (Tia Slama and Deneaka Blinco) wrapped up the bronze medal.

The New Zealand trio of Hamish Coltman, Sebastian Lipp and Kaio Lart won the junior male team sprint over 750m, clocking a superb 46.865s to beat top qualifiers Australia 2 (Daniel Barber, Jaden Rollison, Declan Key) in the final by 0.4s.

Australia 1 scored the bronze medal.

New Zealand 1 topped qualifiers in the female junior 4000m team pursuit, qualifying in 4:43.779 ahead of Australia, with the two teams to meet in the final last night.

The Kiwis proved too strong in the junior male team pursuit qualifying, clocking 4:14.436 to be nearly a second faster than Australia 3, who were to fight out the final, with New Zealand 2 riding for the bronze against Australia 1 in the evening programme last night.

New Zealand also led the way in the elite female 4000m team pursuit qualifying with a solid 4:24.231 performance, which was 2.7s faster than the Australia 1 combination who they were to meet in the final.

Australia 2 were to line-up New Zealand 2 in the bronze medal ride.

The Australian male quartet produced a superb morning ride to prove fastest in the 4000m team pursuit, the only team under the four-minute mark in 3:59.367. They were to race the New Zealand 1 team of Hugo Jones, Josh Scott, Kiaan Watts and Jared Treymane in the final last night, after they were second fastest in 4:03.304.

The evening programme included the elite team sprint qualifying and medal round as well as finals in the team pursuit for all grades and elite scratch races for males and females; evening results were not yet available as the Otago Daily Times went to print.

Add a Comment

Local journalism matters - now more than ever

As the Covid-19 pandemic brings the world into uncharted waters, Otago Daily Times reporters and photographers continue to bring you the stories that matter. For more than 158 years our journalists have provided readers with local news you can trust. This is more important now than ever.

As advertising drops off during the pandemic, support from our readers is crucial. You can help us continue to bring you news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter