Four Asian Tour winners confirm entry in NZ Open

Four winners on the Asian Tour this year have confirmed entries for the New Zealand Open.

On the back of his chip-in birdie on the second playoff hole to clinch his second Asian Tour title on Sunday, Thailand’s Pavit Tangkamolprasert has confirmed his start in the Open.

He won in a playoff at the Sabah Masters in Malaysia.

Joining the Thai in Queenstown will be fellow 2019 Asian Tour winners Taehee Lee, Miguel Carbello and John Catlin.

South Korean Lee successfully won the Maekyung Open trophy after prevailing on the third extra hole to complete a wire-to-wire victory and claim his first Asian Tour title in May.

In September, Argentine Carballo overturned a six-shot deficit to win the Indonesia Open.

American Catlin secured his fourth Asian Tour victory earlier this month with a spectacular playoff hole victory over both Tangkamolprasert and Indian Shiv Kapur at the Thailand Open.

New Zealand Open tournament director Michael Glading is excited to have four of the best from the Asian Tour committed to play in Queenstown.

The Open is co-sanctioned with the PGA Tour of Australasia and the Asian Tour and in partnership with the Japan Tour. It will be staged at Millbrook Resort and The Hills in Arrowtown from February 27 to March 1.

Add a Comment






Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter