12 players, two coaches chosen

Twelve Otago players and two coaches have been chosen for next year's AFL NZ Premiership.

The group includes six retained from their squads last year, alongside a further six who were picked in Tuesday night's draft.

Players from the region are spread across all four teams, which play in Auckland every Sunday between February 11 and April 15.

The Northern Suns are the most Southern-dominated team, with six players included, plus assistant coach Reyne Westbury.

Heta Scarf-Matthews and Will Dickinson (now Auckland-based) were both retained by the team. It has also picked up Josh Hook, Josh Mackie and Logan Toomer, as well as Queenstown's Chai Proctor.

The Central Giants have retained Tristan Burnett and Chris Bailey, while Otago University student James McKenzie was chosen in the draft.

Jamie Angus was picked up by the Western Crows, joining retained player Christian Blackie.

Otago coach Warwick Kain will coach the Southern Saints, which also retained Hayden Johnston.

The premiership is the highest level of AFL within New Zealand, aiming to bring together 120 of the country's best players.

Last year the Saints took the title, while the year before - the premiership's first year - the Crows were champions.

Add a Comment