Championship action at Teretonga

All is ready for a feast of action at Teretonga Park near Invercargill this weekend as the Motorsport NZ Championship event comes to the circuit.

Sixteen drivers from 10 different countries will fight out the Castrol Toyota Racing Series races. The  feature event is the Spirit Of A Nation Cup.

Many of the drivers previously seen in this series have made it all the way to Formula One. This year the Czech Republic, Belgium, Austria, Romania, Russia, Japan, the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand will  be represented on the grid.

The series kicked off at Highlands last weekend, when Liam Lawson (16) won two  of three races to lead the series. The contest in the V8s will provide plenty of action. Australian Jack Smith is leading the championship in his Holden Commodore. Many of New Zealand’s up-and-coming stars will be in action in the Formula 1600 races and the Toyota 86 Series, while the South Island Porsche and Mazda Pro 7 also feature. The rush-hour one-hour race will take place early tonight at Teretonga.

The Toyota racing series will switch to the North Island for the final three rounds — at Hampton Downs next weekend, followed by the Denny Hulme Trophy meeting at Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park in Taupo. The series will conclude at the New Zealand Grand Prix at the Manfeild Circuit in Feilding. 

Add a Comment