Award reflects Robinson’s dominance

Alice Robsinson celebrates her Giant Slalom World Cup win in Slovenia in February. Photo: Getty...
Alice Robsinson celebrates her Giant Slalom World Cup win in Slovenia in February. Photo: Getty Images
Queenstown skier Alice Robinson won the top award at the Snow Sports New Zealand awards handed out in Wanaka on Saturday night.

Robinson had an outstanding year on the slopes in Europe and it was no surprise to see her take the main award.

The 12-month timeframe of the awards period included the 2019-20 northern hemisphere season and the 2020 southern hemisphere season.

Robinson opened the season with an historic win in Austria at the Soelden Giant Slalom World Cup in October 2019.

She became the youngest person ever to win a World Cup at this venue and it was New Zealand’s first Alpine Ski Racing World Cup win since 1997.

Robinson went on to win her second Giant Slalom World Cup in Kranjska Gora, Slovenia in February this year.

She is racing next weekend in Soelden in Austria to open her 2020-21 season.

Jess Hotter and Craig Murray were announced as the joint winners of the Freeride Athlete of the Year award.

It is very unusual for two athletes to jointly win the title, but with both having outstanding results this year on the Freeride World Tour, there was no way to separate them. They both took a win on the Freeride World Tour this year with Hotter winning in Kicking Horse, Canada and Murray in Fieberbrunn, Austria.

Zoi Sadowski-Synnott won her second Winter X Games gold medal in Snowboard Slopestyle in Norway in March this year and Margaux Hackett (breakthrough season winner) had two finishes of fourth at Freeski Big Air World Cups in the 2019-2020 northern hemisphere season.

Snow sports awards

Instructor: Rowan Pemberton (Queenstown). Men’s masters ski: Perry Coulter (Queenstown).   Women’s masters ski: Bonny Teat (Wanaka). Breakthrough season: Margaux Hackett (Wanaka). Freeski slopestyle/big air coach: Chris Knight (Christchurch). Cross-country: Campbell Wright (Wanaka). Alpine skier: Alice Robinson (Queenstown). Adaptive snow sports: Corey Peters (New Plymouth). Snowboarder: Zoi Sadowski-Synnott (Wanaka). Freeskier: Nico Porteous (Wanaka). Freeride: Craig Murray (Wanaka) and Jess Hotter (Ohakune). Overall athlete of the year: Alice Robinson.

Add a Comment






Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter