Barrett takes top honours again

Beauden Barrett was one of four New Zealanders nominated for either men's or women's player of...
Beauden Barrett was one of four New Zealanders nominated for either men's or women's player of the year at the World Rugby awards. Photo: Getty Images
All Blacks number 10 Beauden Barrett has joined Richie McCaw as the only other player to win back-to-back player of the year gongs at the World Rugby awards in Monaco.

Barrett was today named World Rugby's best male player, beating out teammate Rieko Ioane, Australia's Israel Folau, England and Lions first-five Owen Farrell and England and Lions lock Maro Itoje.

It wasn't a clean sweep for the All Blacks however. They were handed their third defeat of 2017 but this one won't hurt as much. The Black Ferns beat their male counterparts to be named team of the year.

The women's Rugby World Cup champions won the award ahead of Rugby Championship winners and Six Nations champions England, while star winger Portia Woodman was named women's player of the year.

"Honestly they make me look good," Woodman said on being presented the to female award.

Eddie Jones was named coach of the year ahead of Steve Hansen and Warren Gatland. England lost just one test this season under Jones as they captured the Six Nations title.

A humble Jones said that Hansen deserved to be up there claiming the award instead.

Ioane capped off a stellar season by being named breakthrough player of the year, presented by Beauden Barrett. Ioane made his test debut late last year against Italy and became a regular starter on the wing for the All Blacks in 2017, scoring 10 tries this season.

Michaela Blyde was named World Rugby's Women's Sevens Player of the Year. Blyde scored 40 tries over the six-tournament series, won by New Zealand.

Former All Blacks skipper McCaw was awarded the IRPA Special Merit award for his charity work since retiring from the game following the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

Award winners
World Rugby Men's Player of the Year: Beauden Barrett (New Zealand
World Rugby Women's Player of the Year: Portia Woodman (New Zealand).
Team of the year – Black Ferns
Coach of the Year - Eddie Jones (England)
World Rugby Referee Award – Joy Neville (Ireland)
IRPA Try of the Year - Joaquin Tuculet (Argentina)
World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year - Rieko Ioane (New Zealand)
World Rugby's Men's Sevens Player of the Year - Perry Baker (USA)
World Rugby's Women's Sevens Player of the Year - Michaela Blyde (New Zealand)
IRPA Special Merit - Rachael Burford and Richie McCaw
Award for Character - Eduardo "Coco" Oderigo
Vernon Pugh Awards for Distinguished Service - Marcel Martin

Add a Comment