Highlanders switch it up for Super Rugby opener

The Highlanders have mixed up their side for the opening game of the season against the Chiefs in Hamilton on Friday.

Ben Smith and Luke Whitelock have been named but there is no sign of Liam Squire and Waisake Naholo.

Matt Faddes will play on the right wing while Thomas Umaga-Jensen gets a start. Josh Ioane will direct the troops from first five-eighth.

Pari Pari Parkinson and Josh Dickson will lock the scrum while Jackson Hemopo will get his first start for the side on the blindside flank.

Young prop Ayden Johnstone will be in the front row.

All Blacks Dillon Hunt, Shannon Frizell and Aaron Smith are in the reserves.

Highlanders: Ben Smith (co-captain), Matt Faddes, Rob Thompson, Thomas Umaga-Jensen, Tevita Li, Josh Ioane, Kayne Hammington, Luke Whitelock (co-captain), James Lentjes, Jackson Hemopo, Josh Dickson, Pari Pari Parkinson, Tyrel Lomax, Liam Coltman, Ayden Johnstone. Reserves: Ash Dixon, Daniel Lienert-Brown, Siate Tokolahi, Shannon Frizell,  Dillon Hunt, Aaron Smith, Bryn Gatland, Sio Tomkinson

Add a Comment