Morrison named Otago's best referee

Adam Morrison
Adam Morrison
Adam Morrison has been named Otago referee of the year.

In the Otago Rugby Referees Association awards handed out last week, Morrison was named the best referee in the province in 2017 and given the Lindsay McLachlan trophy.

Netball umpire and aspiring referee Jono Bredin was named the most improved referee in the premier one grade and Fraser Hannon was the most promising referee.

Dave Bokser was given life membership of the association.

John Keenan was named personality of the year.

Three referees were named in the New Zealand wider training group: Stu Curran, Mitch Will and Bredin.

Thomas Grant was named secondary school referee of the year and Paul Sadler, of Central Otago, was named most promising referee in his first or second year.

Trey McLean was junior referee of the year and Nigel McLachlan, of South Otago, was the senior referee of the year.

Morrison officiated at the Heartland Championship this year but moved overseas at the end of the club season.

Add a Comment