Rugby: NZ under-20s assemble

Today marks the start of New Zealand's under-20 rugby campaign to contest the junior world championship in France next year.

Some 48 players have been called into a week-long development camp in Palmerston North - the first under new New Zealand under-20 head coach Chris Boyd and his assistants Chris Gibbes and Liam Barry.

"It's exciting to think that we have begun our work towards France next year," Boyd said.

"Our main focus for this camp is to build our knowledge and understanding of the individual player abilities.

"We're looking forward to working with the boys, as they prepare themselves to contest for a spot in the squad that we take to France. We're very clear on the goal, particularly after a disappointing final loss to South Africa this year. We want to go out there and dominate and bring back our championship title and trophy."

Squad: Forwards: Sonny Ali'ifa'alogo, Scott Barrett, Donald Brighouse, Sean Brookman, Mitchell Brown, Adam Burn, Josh Davey, Joe Edwards, Hame Faive, Levi Guildford, Jackson Hemopo, Alexander Hodgman, Tom Hughes, Kane Jacobson, Daniel Lienert-Brown, Sione Mafileo, Jordan Manihera, Hadleigh May, Kalafi Pongi, Ardie Savea, Scott Scrafton, Sabastion Siataga, John-Bosco Tagaloa, Patrick Tuipulotu, Chris Vui, Joe Walsh, Boyd Wiggins. Backs: Tayler Adams, Fomai Ah Ki, Shayne Anderson, Michael Collins, Pele Cowley, Jason Emery, Calvary Fonoti, Faasiu Fuatai, Jack Halpin, Wharenui Hawera, Simon Hickey, Penikolo Latu, Niko Malo, Rameka Paraki, Sheridan Rangihuna, Tamati Samuels, Melani Vai, Leroy Van Dam, Lolagi Visinia, Tei Walden, Joe Webber


Add a Comment