Southerners prominent in Halberg nominations

Wanaka snowboarder Zoi Sadowski-Synnott. Photo: Getty Images
Wanaka snowboarder Zoi Sadowski-Synnott. Photo: Getty Images
The long list for the Halberg awards has been announced and there is some southern talent in the mix.

The Halberg Foundation announced 70 nominations yesterday for the six main categories at the 57th Halberg Awards, which will be handed out on February 13.

The awards were created by Olympic champion Sir Murray Halberg in 1963 to honour sporting excellence.

There are 28 sporting codes represented in the nominations, submitted by national sporting organisations and an independent nominations board, recognising achievements from December 1 last year to November 30 this year.

The coach of the year award has 17 nominations from 13 different sports – the most of any category.

One surprise entrant is Dame Valerie Adams, a triple supreme Halberg Award winner, who is nominated for the first time as coach of her sister, Para athlete Lisa Adams.

The sportswoman of the year award features Palmerston motocross rider Courtney Duncan and Wanaka snowboarder Zoi Sadowski-Synnott. They are part of a high-quality 15 strong field. Former Otago rugby player Kelly Brazier is nominated as part of the successful Black Ferns team.

Netballers Laura Langman and Katrina Rore are nominated.

The sportsman of the year has 12 athletes from 11 sports and includes Queenstown freeskier Nico Porteous. Others nominated are last year’s winner shot putter Tom Walsh, and Black Caps captain Kane Williamson.

The team of the year from last year, the Black Ferns sevens side, has again been nominated.

The Black Caps cricket team is nominated and will go close. It is the only male team nominated.

Sophie Pascoe has been nominated for the Para athlete/team of the year – a category she has claimed six times.

Dunedin swimmer Erika Fairweather is nominated in the emerging talent category as is Queenstown skier Alice Robinson.

Halberg Award nominations 

Coach: Gordon Walker (canoeing), Valerie Adams (athletics), Allan Bunting (rugby), Cory Sweeney (rugby), Dale Stevenson (athletics), Damian Wiseman (Para cycling), Eugene Bareman (mixed martial arts), Gary Hay (rowing), Gary Hollywood (swimming), Gary Stead (cricket), Michael Bland (Para cycling), Noeline Taurua (netball), Roly Crichton (Para swimming), Ross Machejefski (cycling), Shane McLeod (hockey), Simon Mayne (Para swimming), Steve Hansen (rugby)

Sportswoman: Lisa Carrington (canoeing), Abby Erceg (football), Avalon Biddle (motorcycling), Courtney Duncan (motorcycling), Danielle McKenzie (canoe racing), Katrina Rore (netball), Kelly Brazier (rugby), Laura Langman (netball), Luuka Jones (canoe slalom), Michelle Montague (mixed martial arts), Phillis Meti (golf), Ruby Tui (rugby), Sarah Hirini (rugby), Tyla Nathan-Wong (rugby), Zoi Sadowski-Synnott (snowboarding). Sportsman: Tom Walsh(athletics), Campbell Stewart (cycling), Israel Adesanya (mixed martial arts), Kane Williamson (cricket) Kieran Read (rugby), Lewis Clareburt (swimming), Michael Venus (tennis), Nico Porteous (freeskiing), Paul Coll (squash), Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (rugby league), Scott McLaughlin (motorsport), Tom Sexton (cycling).

Team: Black Ferns sevens, Black Caps, Kiwi Ferns, women’s pair – Grace Prendergast and Kerri Gowler (rowing), lightweight women’s double – Zoe McBride and Jackie Kiddle (rowing), Silver Ferns (netball), women's double — Olivia Loe and Brooke Donoghue (rowing), women’s eight (rowing), women’s team pursuit — Holly Edmondston, Bryony Botha, Kirstie James, Rushlee Buchanan and Michaela Drummond (cycling).

Para: Sophie Pascoe (swimming), Cameron Leslie (swimming, wheelchair rugby), Eltje Malzbender (para cycling), Emma Foy and Hannah van Kampen (Para cycling), Lisa Adams (Para athletics), Wheel Blacks (wheelchair rugby).

Emerging talent: Alice Robinson (ski racing), Celyn Edwards (Para swimming), Erika Fairweather (swimming), Hamish Macdonald (motorcycling), Jessie Smith (BMX cycling), Kanah Andrews-Nahu (weightlifting), Kyle Glogoski (baseball), Laurence Pithie (cycling), Liberato Cacace (football), Marcus Armstrong (motorsport), Seb Menzies and Blake McGlashan (yachting).

Add a Comment