Andersons Bay proves too strong for Balmacewen

Balmacewen has been beaten by Andersons Bay in a final preview while St Clair closed its season with a win over Otago Boys' High School.

Andersons Bay defeated Balmacewen 6-3 in a matchup that will be repeated in a fortnight to decide this season's champion.

In the women's singles, Ayesha Horley (Andersons Bay) beat Pippa Sherriff (Balmacewen) in two comfortable sets, while in the top singles, Jessie Stevenson (Balmacewen) defeated Marie Reid (Anderson's Bay) 6-2, 6-2.

Ryan Eggers (Andersons Bay) held off Henry Neas (Balmacewen) in the men's singles. He won the long-drawn-out affair 7-6(1), 2-6, 7-5, in three hours.

George Alexander bounced back after losing the second set 1-6 to beat Libby Scott (Balmacewen) in a quality match 7-5, 1-6, 6-1.

Further down the order, Mike Smith (Andersons Bay) edged Nic Cutfield (Balmacewen) in a close contest, while Fraser Richardson (Balmacewen) proved to strong for Anthony Mirfin (Balmacewen) winning 7-5, 6-2.

Horley and Smith wrapped up the tie by defeating Sherriff and Richardson 6-2, 6-3, while the other two doubles were split.

Balmacewen won through Scott and Stevenson beating Alexander and Reid, while Eggers and Gavin Mockford sealed a 6-3 overall tie win with a triumph over Neas and Cutfield.

The day's other tie saw St Clair eke out a tight 5-4 victory over Otago Boys'.

St Clair's top man and woman led from the front as Mitchell Sizemore proved a step above Hugo Tomlinson (Otago Boys') while Rileigh Fields maintained her solid club season with a 6-2, 6-4, win over Annalise Wilson (Otago Boys'). Wilson has taken a step forward this year and will hopefully take the momentum into next season.

Otago Boys' claimed three of the remaining four matches, which saw the debut of Max Gaffaney (Otago Boys').

Gaffaney has been getting impressive results in the juniors and could be one to watch in the future. He defeated Tony Ryder (St Clair) 7-5, 6-1.

Zane Gray (Otago Boys') beat Robin Verstegg in ruthless fashion claiming a 6-1, 6-1 win, and Laura Hamilton (Otago Boys') easily accounted for Liana Hall (St Clair).

Warren Watson (St Clair) ensured it would be 3-3 going into the doubles as he came through against Jake Gilchrist (Otago Boys').

Gray and Gaffaney navigated their way past the experienced combo of Ryder and Verstegg, but St Clair won the remaining two doubles as Fields and Sizemore beat Tomlinson and Wilson and Ayoub Ahmad and Hall easily accounted for Gilchrist and Hamilton.

Next weekend the Otago Open takes centre stage at the Edgar Centre. The club final between Anderson's Bay and Balmacewen takes place the week after.

 - Ryan Eggers 

Add a Comment