50 buildings on register


Some 50 Ashburton district buildings are currently listed on the centrally held Earthquake-Prone Building register.

The register is part of a framework for managing earthquake-prone buildings that came into force in 2017.

It is owned and managed by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment and enables councils and the ministry to record and update information about buildings or parts of buildings that have been determined to be earthquake prone.

The list changes as further buildings are identified and added, or as buildings are strengthened or demolished.

The Ashburton District Council collated list includes one building at Mayfield, five in Tinwald and the rest in Ashburton, the majority of which are located in the town centre.

Placards setting out the earthquake proneness of the buildings are displayed in prominent places on the buildings.

Add a Comment