Ashburton nine-holers take awards


Colin Fleming presents the Marion Marshal Trophy to Chris Anderson.
Colin Fleming presents the Marion Marshal Trophy to Chris Anderson.
The Ashburton Golf Club's nine-hole Thursday group has held its end of year match and awards have been presented.

Winners were decided from scores taken from three out of five games.

The Jean Drummond Trophy for putting was won by Gordon Clinton, Chris Anderson won the Marion Marshall Trophy for best net scores and the Heather Smith Trophy for best stableford scores was jointly won by Laurence Hanrahan and Bev Blair.

Other awards went to Joy Nicholas and Eric Weir, who claimed the Opening Day Daphne Smallbone Trophy (Greensome) and Tong King and Gordon Clinton, who won the Closing Day Trophy (Greensome).



Local trusted journalism matters - now more than ever

As the Covid-19 pandemic brings the world into uncharted waters, Star Media journalists and photographers continue to report local stories that matter everyday - yours.

For more than 152 years our journalists have provided Cantabrians with local news that can be trusted. It’s more important now than ever to keep Cantabrians connected.

As our advertising has fallen during the pandemic, support from you our reader is crucial.

You can help us continue to provide local news you can trust simply by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter