South Canterbury team win tournament in style

The South Canterbury Development bowls team celebrate their win at the Zone 6 development...
The South Canterbury Development bowls team celebrate their win at the Zone 6 development tournament are (back row, from left) Phil Quinn, Dan Johnston, Gareth Burgess, Nigel Mobberley, Jarod Trevathan and Mike Crook and (front row, from left) John Tyro (manager), Bruce Scott (selector), Jarrod Barker, Jason Browning, Aaron Taylor and Andrew Bell. PHOTO: SUPPLIED

The South Canterbury Development bowls team have pulled off another sensational win, taking the Clutha-Oamaru Licensing trust trophy at the Zone 6 development tournament played on the Kia Toa green at the weekend.

Up against centres from North Otago, Dunedin, Central Otago, Southland and South Otago, the 10-man team split into disciplines playing singles, pairs, triples and fours.

The South Canterbury team were all class and won the zone with ease. The South Canterbury pair of Mike Crook and Aaron Taylor, who have been unbeaten all year, were on fire, outclassing the opposition and giving South Canterbury an outstanding chance to win the zone.

Dan Johnston, Jarrod Barker and Phil Quinn won all five games in triples. Singles player Nigel Mobberley won just one game on Saturday but fought back with an unbeaten run on Sunday.

The fours of Alphy Trevathan, Gareth Burgess, Andrew Bell and Jason Browning had a great day on Saturday but just went down on Sunday.

Singles (Nigel Mobberley): Lost South Otago 12 to 25, beat North Otago 25 to 19, lost Central Otago 16 to 25, beat Southland 25 to 6, beat North Otago 25 to 10.

Pairs (Mike Crook, Aaron Taylor): Won North Otago 26 to 11, won South Otago 25 to 7, won Dunedin 22 to 18, won Central Otago 33 to 14, won Southland 28 to 9.

Triples (Dan Johnston, Jarrod Barker, Phil Quinn): Won Dunedin 18 to 15, won North Otago 21 to 20, won Southland 23 to 18, won South Otago 26 to 14, won Central Otago 25 to 24.

Fours (Gareth Burgess, Jarod Trevathan, Andrew Bell, Jason Browning): Lost Central Otago 15 to 16, won Southland 23 to 12, won North Otago 25 to 15, lost South Otago 12 to 14, lost Dunedin 8 to 19.

Points: 1 South Canterbury 45 points +112, 2 South Otago 34 points -45, 3 Dunedin 33 points +66, 4 Central Otago 33 points +21, 5 Southland 19 points -58, 6 North Otago 14 points -96.

Senior competition

In the senior competiton played at Temuka the South Canterbury team were lying second going into the last round and with fours wins they would have pulled off another memorable win to go with their victory last year in Alexandra.

All South Canterbury teams battled hard but never managed a win against some of best bowlers in New Zealand and moved from second to fourth on the table.

The South Canterbury pairs, triples and fours all had three wins and singles player Shayne Chisnall had a win and draw.

Singles (Shayne Chisnal): Lost South Otago 22 to 24, won Dunedin 25 to 14, drew Central Otago 19 all, lost Southland 17 to 25, lost North Otago 13 to 25.

Pairs (Tom Taiaroa, Marshall Stoddard): Won North Otago 27 to 8, won South Otago 23 to 13, lost Dunedin 12 to 22, won Central Otago 22 to 14, lost Southland 11 to 22.

Triples (Dean Harper, Scott Fisher, Bruce Wakefield): Won Dunedin 19 to 14, won North Otago 24 to 11, lost Southland 15 to 21, won South Otago 37 to 7, lost Central Otago 19 to 22.

Fours (Sam Morton, Mitchell Dunbar, Rich Ross, Dave Carey): Lost Central Otago 9 to 17, won Southland 16 to 12, won North Otago 22 to 18, won South Otago 20 to 5, Lost Dunedin 8 to 26.

Points: 1 Dunedin 45 Points +117, 2 Southland 39 +72, 3 Central Otago 38 +43, 4 South Canterbury 31 +41, 5 North Otago 13 -94, 6 South Otago 12 -179. 


Taking part in the U15 Southern Zone softball tournament are the Dunedin-based Spartan Mystics ...
Taking part in the U15 Southern Zone softball tournament are the Dunedin-based Spartan Mystics (batting) and the Riccarton Riots (fielding). PHOTO: CONNOR HALEY

Three South Canterbury softball club teams competed in the Southern Zone Under 15 Boys & Girls Open Club Champs, held at Sir Basil Arthur Park from January 18-21.

Zingari Boys, Zingari Girls and Pleasant Point Boys joined 18 other club teams from around the South Island.

Sir Basil Arthur Park was looking its best with six diamonds in place, thanks to local businesses Rangers Specialist Coatings, Bleeker & Weith, Fencing Solutions and Geeves Scaffolding.

Zingari Boys started with a win against last year's tournament winners, RKS Mini Blinders.

The captains of the South Canterbury teams taking part in the U15 tournament were (from left)...
The captains of the South Canterbury teams taking part in the U15 tournament were (from left) Hans Prosch (Zingari Boys), Rubi Green (Zingari Girls) and Anthony Baker (Pleasant Point Boys). PHOTO: SUPPLIED
Although they had some close scores in other games, they were unable to score another win from the eight games they played over the four days, finishing in 12th place. Zingari Boys’ MVP was Zachariah Burdes.

At the end of the second day Pleasant Point Boys had completed their round robin games with two wins and two losses, finishing fourth in their pool and putting them at the top of their cross over play.

The team was unable to notch up another win, finishing 11th overall.

Pleasant Point Boys’ MVP was Damon Morrison.

Teams battled the hot windy conditions on Saturday and heat exhaustion affected a number of the young players.

Zingari Girls were unlucky not to come away with a win when they faced Spartan Mystics.

Up 7-3, they had to forfeit the game when they were unable to field the required nine players.

The girls finished in ninth place.

Zingari Girls’ MVP was Brooklyn Feely.

Top honours went to two Canterbury teams, with Halswell Devilz winning the boys’ tournament and Riccarton Riots winning the girls’.

Tournament committee members were very pleased with the way the tournament went, and received many positive comments.

The future of softball in the area is looking bright.


Indoor bowls

Allan Gibson combined with John Dawson to win the first summer pairs of 2024 at the latest tournament, with four wins, 22 ends and 38 points.

This combination are consistent performers, and thoroughly deserved their win.

Second on a countback were Carolyn Cooper and Ann-Maree Blissett with four wins, 18 ends and 34 points.

Derek Cooper and David Ellis were the other combination to have not lost a game, finishing third with two wins and two draws.

No team recorded three wins, which is unusual at this tournament.

The association has lost another life member with the recent passing of Peter Tutty.

Peter was a former vice-president and president of the association and his laid-back approach had all executive members working well under his leadership.

He and wife Doreen were instrumental in running the annual grocery raffle; the bulk of the work was carried out by this hard-working couple.

Peter was also a highly respected member of the Timaru St Joseph’s Club.

The proposed programme for 2024 has been circulating, and it promises to be a full season from March 13.

The next summer pairs will be held on January 31.