Young Canterbury stars will face up to strong India A side

Canterbury paceman Andrew Hazeldine will be part of the New Zealand XI for two one-dayers against...
Canterbury paceman Andrew Hazeldine will be part of the New Zealand XI for two one-dayers against an India A. Photo: Supplied
Black Caps all-rounder Daryl Mitchell will lead a youthful New Zealand XI stacked with Canterbury players in two one-dayers against India A at Lincoln this week.

The two sides will clash at Bert Sutcliffe Oval on Friday and Sunday.

Canterbury speedster Andrew Hazeldine earns his first call-up to the national stage and will be joined in the pace department by Canterbury teammate Henry Shipley and Northern District’s fast bowler Zak Gibson.

Canterbury’s Jack Boyle will open the batting for the NZ XI with Jakob Bhula while Theo van Woerkom is the specialist spinner.

India A boasts test stars Mayank Agarwal, ranked 13th in the ICC test batting rankings, and 20-year-old Prithvi Shaw - who scored a century on debut and averages 118.5 after two tests.

It will also include spinners Krunal Pandya, Axar Patel and Khaleel Ahmed who have all played for the Indian senior side.

India A will be captained by Shubman Gill.

Selector Gavin Larsen said the NZ XI has an exciting couple of days in store.

"It’s a great opportunity for our guys, many of whom are at different stages of their careers," he said.

"India A are full of international experience and we know how tough it is to make that senior team so we're under no illusions about the challenge ahead.

"Coach John Bracewell and myself are looking forward to seeing how the players respond, and who stands up."

New Zealand XI

Daryl Mitchell (Northern Districts) (c), Finn Allen (Auckland Aces), Jakob Bhula (Wellington Firebirds), Jack Boyle (Canterbury), Katene Clarke (Northern Districts), Josh Clarkson (Central Stags), Dane Cleaver (Central Stags) (wk), Zak Gibson (Northern Districts), Andrew Hazeldine (Canterbury), Henry Shipley (Canterbury), Sean Solia (Auckland Aces), Theo van Woerkom (Canterbury).

India A

Shubman Gill (c), Mayank Agarwal, Khaleel Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), Krunal Pandya, Axar Patel, Ishan Porel, Sanju Samson, Vijay Shankar, Prithvi Shaw, Mohammed Siraj, Sandeep Warrier, Suryakumar Yadav.



Local trusted journalism matters - now more than ever

As the Covid-19 pandemic brings the world into uncharted waters, Star Media journalists and photographers continue to report local stories that matter everyday - yours.

For more than 152 years our journalists have provided Cantabrians with local news that can be trusted. It’s more important now than ever to keep Cantabrians connected.

As our advertising has fallen during the pandemic, support from you our reader is crucial.

You can help us continue to provide local news you can trust simply by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter