Young athletes up for Zonta Awards

Burnside High School cyclist Sami Donnelly is in the running for a Zonta Award on Thursday.
Burnside High School cyclist Sami Donnelly is in the running for a Zonta Award on Thursday.
The 29th Zonta Awards will be held in Hornby on Thursday to recognise the achievements of Canterbury secondary school athletes.

The annual event, initiated by the Zonta Cub of Christchurch South in 1990, is a highlight of the year for many young people.

In the past, recognition at the awards has heralded the beginning of some long-standing and highly-successful international careers.

New Zealand Paralympic swimming coach Roly Crichton will be the guest speaker.

There have been 163 nominations, including teams, across six categories from 24 schools in the School Sport Canterbury area, which includes Kaikoura, North Canterbury and the West Coast.

Zonta Awards finalists

Category one: The award for the most valued contribution to a team by a young sportswoman or sportsman who is not eligible for nomination in categories four or six

•Girls: Charlotte Allen, Christchurch Girls’ High School, rugby. Grace Fissenden, Rangi Ruru Girls’ School, netball, athletics. Amber Williams, Rangi Ruru Girls’ School, rowing.

•Boys: Jack Baker, Papanui High School, touch. Caleb Cottom, Papanui High School, football. George Rutledge, St Andrew’s College, rowing. Jimmy Williamson, Middleton Grange, Basketball.

Category two: The award for contribution to sports administration by a young woman and a young man in a position of umpire, referee, coach or tutor

•Girls: Kate Baird, St Margaret’s College, badminton. Harriet Fletcher, Rangi Ruru Girls’ School, netball. Gemma Harris, Papanui High School, netball. Ruby Lange, Christchurch Girls’ High School, netball. Jordan Taylor, Christchurch Girls’ High School, cycling.

•Boys: Zac Barnett, St Bede’s College, basketball. James-Paul Mountstevens, Burnside High School, hockey. Thomas Pilkington, Papanui High School, touch. Nathan van Slooten, Burnside High School, hockey. Ben Weaver, Lincoln High School, touch.

Category three: The award for the most outstanding achievement by a young sportswoman and a young sportsman with a disability

•Girls: Ella Benn, Rolleston College, swimming. Montana Brown, Cashmere High School, para-athletics. Alisha Mill, Avonside Girls’ High School, boccia.

•Boys: Reuben Anguisaca-Bland, Papanui High School, athletics, cross-Country. Nathan Carter, Darfield High School, athletics, cross-country. Celyn Edwards, Hillmorton High School, para-swimming. Leuan Edwards, Hillmorton High School, para-swimming.

Category four: The award for the most outstanding individual achievement by a young sportswoman and a young sportsman specialising in one sport

•Girls: Charlotte Darry, St Margaret’s College, rowing. Sami Donnelly, Burnside High School, track cycling. Macey Fraser, Rangiora High School, football. Gabrielle Rennie, Rangiora High School, football. Olivia Sloan, Christchurch Girls’ High School, archery. Marisa van der Meer, Middleton Grange School, football. Sally Wylaars, Avonside Girls’ High School, rowing. Lucy Cochrane, Christchurch Girls’ High School, equestrian. Cass Hetherington, Christchurch Girls’ High School, sprint kayaking. Helen Matthews, Kaiapoi High School, basketball. Jess Nisbet, Papanui High School, canoe sprint. Brea Roderick, Mount Hutt

College, triathlon. Caitlin Sadler, Avonside Girls’ High School, korfball. Ashlee Strawbridge, Rangi Ruru Girls’ School, basketball. Brooke Teear, Papanui High School, trampoline. Jiayi Zhou, Burnside High School, table tennis. Jenny Zhu, St Andrew’s College, badminton.

•Boys: Celyn Edwards, Hillmorton High School, para-swimming. Zack Gallagher, Christ’s College, rugby. John Gerber, St Bede’s College, athletics. Wil Gualter, Lincoln High School, rugby. Sam Hadley, Christ’s College, skiing. Kazuma Kobori, Rangiora High School, golf. John Morrison, St Bede’s College, hockey. Lawrence Pithie, Christchurch Boys’ High School, cycling. Jack Sexton, St Andrew’s College, rugby. Hunter Simpson, Rangiora High School, softball. Jack Wang, St Andrew’s College, badminton.

Category five: The awards for the most outstanding team of young sportswomen and sportsmen or mixed team

•Girls: Avonside Girls’ High School, rowing under-18 double. Christchurch Girls’ High School, cricket. Christchurch Girls’ High School, hockey. Christchurch Girls’ High School, rugby. Rangiora High School, futsal. St Andrew’s College, badminton. St Margaret’s College, rowing under-18 eight.

•Boys: Christchurch Boys’ High School, cycling under-20 team time trial. Christchurch Boys’ High School, rowing eight. Papanui High School, cross-country. St Andrew’s College, swimming relay. St Thomas of Canterbury College, futsal.

•Mixed finalists: Burnside High School, golf. Burnside High School, table tennis. Lincoln High School, touch. St  Andrew’s College, adventure racing. St Andrew’s College, swimming.

Category six: The award for the best all-round young sportswoman and young sportsman who has achieved in more than one sporting code

•Girls: Tegan Bishop, Rangiora High School, surfing, skiing, skateboard. Sophie Bowden, Christchurch Girls’ High School, hockey, rowing. Jaidyn Busch, Christchurch Girls’ High School, rugby, athletics. Anneka Calder, Rangi Ruru Girls’ School, hockey, rowing. Kate Herman, Lincoln High School, touch, basketball, rugby. Millie Thompson, Lincoln High School, hockey, touch, equestrian, ki-o-rahi. Naia Toaolamai-holden,

Christchurch Girls’ High School, rugby, sevens, touch.

•Boys: Louis Clark, Christ’s College, water polo, surf lifesaving, swimming. Wil Gualter, Lincoln High School, touch, rugby, volleyball. Cameron Henderson, Christchurch Boys’ High School, rowing, rugby. Suli Samasoni, Hillmorton High School, basketball, kI-o-rahi, volleyball, rugby.



Local trusted journalism matters - now more than ever

As the Covid-19 pandemic brings the world into uncharted waters, Star Media journalists and photographers continue to report local stories that matter everyday - yours.

For more than 152 years our journalists have provided Cantabrians with local news that can be trusted. It’s more important now than ever to keep Cantabrians connected.

As our advertising has fallen during the pandemic, support from you our reader is crucial.

You can help us continue to provide local news you can trust simply by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter