Ashburton team wins Xmas tournament

The Ashburton team of Russell Ellis, Charlie Cleghorn, Gaynor Hurst and Joan Hardie prevailed in the South Canterbury Christmas tournament held last Saturday.

They were the only team to win all six of their matches and thoroughly deserved their victory.

A countback was required to separate three teams with five wins with James Blissett, Carol Dawson, Carolyn Cooper and Jo Kerr finishing runners-up; Kylie Gould, Neville Gould, Ruth Gould and Debs Ruffell finishing third and Judy Sell skipping an Otago team finishing fourth. Kevin Heslin’s team, with four wins and a draw, finished fifth.

Teams with three wins and a draw rounded out the prize-winners with these teams skipped by Derek Cooper, Shane Cooper, Sylvia Taylor and Ken Mackenzie.

It was agreed that next year there will be a fours competition on the Saturday and a pairs competition on the Sunday. Both these events will be the best of five games. As mentioned in my last article, Brian Henry a life member of the association, has died. Brian was instrumental in getting this tournament off the ground, and I am certain that he would have been delighted with this tournament becoming a weekend tournament and still being as popular as when it first commenced.

The executive members who keep this tournament running are to be congratulated for their efforts.

David and Mary Mealings prevailed in the latest summer pairs tournament. They were the only combination to manage four wins from their four games.

A countback was required to separate those teams with three wins, which resulted in Carol Dawson and Dave Shand finishing second, Alan Reid and Neisha Hogg third, Allan Gibson and Hayden Harnett fourth and Jenelle and Kelvin Lockyer fifth.

The next summer pairs are on December 13, with the first summer pairs tournament for 2024 set down for January 17.

David Mealings