Methven farmer wins arable farming title

David Grant
David Grant
Mid Canterbury arable farmer David Grant, of Methven, has won the Federated Farmers Arable Farmer of the Year Award 2021.

He was one of many of the Mid Canterbury district’s arable farmers recognised for their work within the industry at the recent Arable Industry Awards in Christchurch.

In the other awards, Mid Canterbury grower Graeme Bassett won the Biosecurity Farmer of the Year award, which was designed to recognise a member focused on protecting their property from the risks posed by unwanted pests, weeds or diseases, and who had done biosecurity-related advocacy work on behalf of all growers.

Grain Grower of the Year award went to Southlanders Morgan and Karen Horrell, Seed Grower of the Year award went to South Otago growers Craig and Anna Whiteside and the Maize Grower of the Year went to Waikato grower Paul Hunter.

Mid Canterbury’s Craig Muckle was named the Champion Wheat Grower for 2021 at the United Wheatgrowers Awards (UWA), presented at the same function.

He was also the winner of the UWG Bayer wheat grower award.

The other awards for the UWA went to Brian Leadley, of Ashburton, who won the RuralCo Gristling Wheat Award. Kerry Thomas won the Agronomist of the Year award, Bill and Nick Davey, of Springdale Farming, won the Mauri Mills Milling Wheat award, Warren and Andrew Darling, of Timaru, won the Viterra Feed Wheat of the Year award and Mike and Lynn Porter won the Farmers Mill Biscuit Wheat of the Year award.


Add a Comment