Injured Highlanders in All Blacks squad

Waisake Naholo (left) and Aaron Smith. Photo Getty Images
Waisake Naholo (left) and Aaron Smith. Photo Getty Images
Injured Highlanders Aaron Smith, Waisake Naholo and Liam Squire have been included in an All Blacks foundation day squad as preparations for the international season begins.

Forty-one players have been named to attend a one-day camp in Wellington next week.

Liam Squire. Photo: Getty Images
Liam Squire. Photo: Getty Images
A second foundation day for North Island-based players will take place in Auckland next month and one for South Island-based players in Christchurch in June.

Blues loose forward Akira Ioane is the only uncapped player to make next week's squad, but there's no spot for veteran teammate Ma'a Nonu.

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen will select a 31-man squad for the Rugby World Cup in Japan later in the year following the Rugby Championship.

New Zealand Rugby Head of High Performance Mike Anthony said the timing of the foundation days had been agreed at last year's meeting between Super Rugby coaches and All Blacks management.

"Given the All Blacks have an incredibly short lead-in time to the upcoming international season, culminating in the Rugby World Cup, and with there being no camps during the Investec Super Rugby season, the foundation days will provide an opportunity for All Blacks management and our leading players to start building towards what is a huge year ahead," he said.

The players attending the foundation days are:

Forwards: Dane Coles, Liam Coltman, Nathan Harris, Codie Taylor, Owen Franks, Nepo Laulala, Tyrel Lomax, Joe Moody, Angus Ta'avao, Karl Tu'inukuafe, Ofa Tuungafasi, Scott Barrett, Jackson Hemopo, Brodie Retallick, Patrick Tuipulotu, Samuel Whitelock, Sam Cane, Vaea Fifita, Shannon Frizell, Akira Ioane, Kieran Read, Ardie Savea, Liam Squire, Matt Todd and Luke Whitelock.

Backs: TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, Beauden Barrett, Damian McKenzie, Richie Mo'unga, Ryan Crotty, Jack Goodhue, Ngani Laumape, Anton Lienert-Brown, Sonny Bill Williams, Jordie Barrett, George Bridge, Rieko Ioane, Waisake Naholo and Ben Smith.

Add a Comment