Dairy awards southern finalists named

Finalists have been named for Southland-Otago and Canterbury-North Otago in the New Zealand Dairy Industry Awards.

The awards, which oversee the Share Farmer of the Year, Dairy Manager of the Year and Dairy Trainee of the Year competitions, received 424 entries nationally, 75 of them coming from those regions.

The Canterbury-North Otago regional winners will be named on March 22 and the Southland-Otago ones on March 25.

They will then progress to the national final. The winners will be announced at a function at Sky City in Auckland on May 6.

Tickets are on sale now for the Southland-Otago final, which will be held at Bill Richardson Transport World, in Invercargill.

Southland-Otago finalists. —Dairy trainee of the year: Tane Boyce, Brooke Buchanan, Bryce Deal, Ben McLean, Jase McNaught, Simone Smail.

Dairy manager of the year: Ann Linton, Matt McKenzie, Angela Nicholson, Randy Saldana, Phill White.Share farmer of the year: Russell and Tracy Bouma, Jared and Sara Crawford, Derek and Laura Dudley, Jeremy Smith and Michelle Oldam-Smith, Matthew Van Hout.

Canterbury-North Otago finalists. —Dairy trainee: Ben Haley, Hamish Lee, Peter Magon, Luke Roberts, Cheyenne Wilson.

Dairy manager: Paul Clement, Emma Gibb, Kerry Higgins, Rhys and Kiri Roberts, Russ Young.Share farmer: James Bawden, Simon Clisby and Nadia Trowland, Kieran and Erin McCall, Christopher and Siobhan O’Malley, Tania Riddington.

Add a Comment






Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter