Promotions celebrate Otago academics’ contributions

Thirty University of Otago academics have been promoted to the position of professor.

Vice-chancellor Harlene Hayne said the promotion to professor recognised the hard work, skill and dedication of a wide range of University of Otago academics.

"The depth and breadth of research expertise, leadership, and commitment to their work demonstrated by these staff is highlighted with their promotion.

"It’s a pleasure to see the success of academics from a wide range of departments and research areas, and from across our campuses in Dunedin, Christchurch and Wellington.

‘‘I look forward to following with interest their teaching, research and service achievements in the future."

Otago’s promotion process involved thorough evaluation of each individual’s record of contributions to research, teaching, and service to the university and community, she said.

It also involved input from international experts in
evaluating the candidates’ research contributions.

A further 42 Otago academics were being promoted to associate professor.

The promotions take effect from February 1, 2020.

Staff promoted to professor: Gillian Abel (population health), Joanne Baxter (health sciences), Joseph Boden (psychological medicine), Rhiannon Braund (preventive and social medicine), Rachel Brown (human nutrition), Pat Cragg (physiology), Jacob Edmond (English and linguistics), Colin Gavaghan (law), Jean Hay-Smith (medicine), Julia Horsfield (pathology), Lisa Houghton (human nutrition), Caroline Horwath (human nutrition), Christine Jasoni (anatomy), Niels Kjaergaard (physics), Miles Lamare (marine science), William Levack (medicine), Richard Macknight (biochemistry), Fiona McDonald (physiology), Alexander McLellan (microbiology and immunology), Suzanne Pitama (Maori/indigenous health), John Pickering (medicine), Bruce Robertson (zoology), Katrina Sharples (mathematics and statistics and medicine), Will Sweetman (religion), Neil Waddell (oral rehabilitation), Debra Waters (physiotherapy), Esko Wiltshire (paediatrics and child health), Tim Woodfield (orthopaedic surgery and musculoskeletal medicine), Yolanda van Heezik (zoology), Rachel Zajac (psychology).

Staff promoted to associate professor: Melanie Beres (sociology, gender studies and criminology); Max Berry (paediatrics and child health); Melanie Bussey (physical education, sport and exercise sciences); Anna Carr (tourism); Marcelle Dawson (sociology, gender studies and criminology); Lara Friedlander (oral rehabilitation); Paul Gardner (biochemistry); Tony Garry (marketing); Richard Greatbanks (management); Elaine Hargreaves (physical education, sport and exercise sciences); Dione Healey (psychology); Michael Jack (physics); Anne-Marie Jackson (physical education, sport and exercise sciences); Emily Keddell (social and community work); Regis Lamberts (physiology); Richard Linscott (psychology); Sunyoung Ma (oral rehabilitation); Peter Mace (biochemistry); Susan Mackenzie (tourism); Alex Macmillan (preventive and social medicine); Vijay Mallan (higher education); Rachael McLean (preventive and social medicine); Carla Meledandri (chemistry); Steven Mills (computer science); Hugh Morrison (education); Hilda Mulligan (physiotherapy); Garry Nixon (general practice and rural health); Conor O’Kane (management); Louise Parr-Brownlie (anatomy); Rose Richards (health sciences); Kirsten Robertson (marketing); James Scott (geology); James Ussher (microbiology and immunology); Zach Weber (philosophy); Lincoln Wood (management); Emma Wyeth (preventive and social medicine); Sinead Donnelly (medicine); Chris Baldi (medicine); Pat Silcock (food science); Debbie Snell (orthopaedic surgery and musculoskeletal med); Jo-Ann Stanton (anatomy); Michael Tatley (pharmacovigilance).


Add a Comment

Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter