Officer top-scoring councillor in Central

It's the first time Tamah Alley has stood for council. Photo: supplied
It's the first time Tamah Alley has stood for council. Photo: supplied
A Central Otago police officer has become the highest polling councillor for the Central Otago District Council.
Tamah Alley, who is the police youth aid officer in Central Otago and stood for council for the first time, received 2310 votes, making her the top-scoring Vincent ward councillor and Central Otago councillor overall.

The other four Vincent councillors voted in were incumbent councillor Martin McPherson (2211 votes), new councillors Tracy Paterson (2014) and Ian Cooney (1934), and incumbent Lynley Claridge (1817).

The four Cromwell councillors voted in are incumbents Nigel McKinlay (1828 votes) and Neil Gillespie (1818), new councillor Cheryl Laws (1655), and incumbent Shirley Calvert (1556).

Teviot Valley councillor Stephen Jeffery and Maniototo councillor Stu Duncan have been re-elected unopposed.

There are several new faces on community boards also: Tony Buchanan, for the Cromwell board, Mark Harris, for the Maniototo board, Anna Robinson and Roger Browne, for the Vincent board, and Cushla Browning and Norman Dalley, for the Teviot board.

The successful community board candidates are as follows:

Cromwell Community Board: Robin Dicey (1335 votes), Tony Buchanan (1334), Anna Harrison (1319) and Werner Murray (1302).
Vincent Community Board: Russell Garbutt (2119 votes), Anna Robinson (1646), Sharleen Stirling-Lindsay (1618) and Roger Browne (1527). Ian Cooney received 2346 votes for his Vincent Community Board nomination, but instead becomes elected to his Vincent council seat.

Maniototo Community Board: Duncan Helm (555 votes), Mark Harris (554), Robert Hazlett (529) and Sue Umbers (496).
Teviot Valley Community Board: Raymond Gunn (573 votes), Sally Feinerman (498), Cushla Browning (415) and Norman Dalley (367).

All five Central Otago Health Inc. members have been re-elected unopposed. They are Britta Christensen (Cromwell ward), Caroline Tamblyn (Teviot), Leigh Overton (Wanaka) and Tracey Paterson and Roy Robert (Vincent).

Tim Cadogan has been re-elected as mayor with 7093 votes, compared to his mayoral challenger Victoria Bonham, who received 839 votes.

Ms Bonham also stood unsuccessfully for the Vincent council ward and Vincent Community Board.

A Central Otago District Council statement said the voter return in Central Otago was 53.31%, being 8344 votes.


Add a Comment


Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter