Shadbolt wins in landslide

Tim Shadbolt celebrates as he is re-elected as Invercargill Mayor. Credit:NZPA / Dianne Manson.
Tim Shadbolt celebrates as he is re-elected as Invercargill Mayor. Credit:NZPA / Dianne Manson.
Despite a term plagued by infighting among city councillors, New Zealand's longest serving mayor, Tim Shadbolt, has won the Invercargill mayoralty race for the sixth time.

Results announced about 2pm today showed Mr Shadbolt's victory was a landslide, with 16,275 votes. He was well ahead of his nearest rivals Suzanne Prentice with 5311 votes and Carl Heenan with 669 votes.

With the slogan "Time for a change'', Ms Prentice was tipped to give Mr Shadbolt a run for his money in the election. However, her inexperience in politics showed and voters chose to stick with the incumbent mayor.

Mr Shadbolt said he was relieved with the result and thanked the people of Invercargill for their support. However, he was also saddened to see many sitting councillors not re-elected.

Councillors Wayne Harpur, Peter Kett and Lindsay Thomas were cast aside and replaced by new councillors Carolyn Dean, Lloyd Esler, Ian Pottinger and Graeme Lewis.

Re-elected councillors were Darren Ludlow, Jackie Kruger, Alan Dennis, Norman Elder, Graham Sycamore, Neil Boniface, Thelma Buck and Lindsay Abbott.


Add a Comment




Our journalists are your neighbours

We are the South's eyes and ears in crucial council meetings, at court hearings, on the sidelines of sporting events and on the frontline of breaking news.

As our region faces uncharted waters in the wake of a global pandemic, Otago Daily Times continues to bring you local stories that matter.

We employ local journalists and photographers to tell your stories, as other outlets cut local coverage in favour of stories told out of Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

You can help us continue to bring you local news you can trust by becoming a supporter.

Become a Supporter