All Blacks make ESPN most dominant list

Kieran Read and Richie McCaw lift the William Webb Ellis Trophy after winning the 2015 Rugby...
Kieran Read and Richie McCaw lift the William Webb Ellis Trophy after winning the 2015 Rugby World Cup in England. Photo: Getty Images
The All Blacks are the 17th most dominant team in the past 20 years according to a list compiled by ESPN The Magazine.

The sports publication compiled the list as part of their 20th anniversary issue, where it looked at the best teams across all sports to decide which teams were the most dominant over the past 20 years.

Topping the list were the 2016-17 Golden State Warriors who last year went 16-1 in the NBA postseason, the best ever showing in a single NBA postseason.

Surprisingly for the American-centric publication, second place went to the Australian men's national cricket team of 2002-03, during which they extended their win streak to 16 Test victories and won all matches at the Cricket World Cup.

The 2015 All Blacks, who became the first team to win back-to-back Rugby World Cups, only managed 17th on the list.

They were eclipsed by a range of American and international teams including the New York Yankees, the Chicago Cubs and the Brazilian national football team.

"The eight most dominant international rugby teams of the past 20 years are all Kiwis," said ESPN writer Peter Keating.

"The 2015 edition of the All Blacks had the highest end-of-year World Rugby ranking ever and won another World Cup. Fly-half Beauden Barrett went on to win World Player of the Year in 2016 and 2017."

ESPN also did a similar ranking of the most dominant athletes of the last 20 years, which was topped by Tiger Woods, LeBron James and Peyton Manning, respectively.

1. 2016-17 Golden State Warriors (NBA)
2. 2002-03 Australian men's national team (cricket)
3. 1998 New York Yankees (MLB)
4. 2012-13 Chicago Blackhawks (NHL)
5. 2016 Chicago Cubs (MLB)
6. 2013-14 Connecticut Huskies (Women's college hoops)
7. 2002 Los Angeles Sparks (WNBA)
8. 2008 Florida Gators (College football)
9. 2007-08 Detroit Red Wings (NHL)
10. 2000-01 Duke Blue Devils (Men's college hoops)
11. 2013-14 Real Madrid (UEFA)
12. 2013 Seattle Seahawks (NFL)
13. 2002 Brazil (FIFA)
14. 2014 Phoenix Mercury (WNBA)
15. 2004 New England Patriots (NFL)
16. 2007 Boston Red Sox (MLB)
17. 2015 All Blacks (rugby union)
18. 2006-07 San Antonio Spurs (NBA)
19. 2007-08 Kansas Jayhawks (Men's college hoops)
20. 1999-2000 Connecticut Huskies (Women's college hoops)

Add a Comment