Sevens: Taranaki claim first title at nationals

Taranaki have won a first national provincial sevens title since 1982, thumping North Harbour 32-17 in the final in Queenstown.

Mark Atkins scored a hat trick for Taranaki, who led 17-0 at halftime.

Auckland (plate), Hawkes Bay (bowl) and Counties-Manukau (shield) won the minor finals.

Women's teams appeared in Queenstown for the first time. Manawatu beat Waikato 36-17 in the final.

The tournament shifts to Rotorua next year.

Add a Comment